Mario Talavera Writes

- My Development Journal

An Orlando Runaround

with one comment

For runners… 

You may know about the site DC Rainmaker, what I think to be one of the best run/swim/bike blogs that I know.  I find Ray Maker’s Run-Around-The-Neighborhood posts very entertaining.  As of this writing, his latest is A London Runaround.  Go check it out, he is very enthusiastic and you can’t help but enjoy his runs. 

Paying homage to these, I decided to find out if these are as fun to do as they look!

May in Orlando means we try to schedule our runs early in the morning or late in the evening.  This morning before work, I decided to head out for a morning run. 

Sidenote – If you’re in Orlando for business, this run is close to the airport.

I start my run imagining I am cruising down Beverly Hills.

100_0001

Which quickly turns into Anytown USA, your typical office park with a mixture of businesses and hotels.

100_0002
About 10 minutes into run though, the landscape is completely different.

100_0005
Before long, we run into the littlest city close to Orlando Airport no one has heard about, Belle Isle.

100_0007
Pretty soon, we get to one of many public parks around the city, Warren Park. 

100_0008

Not many people here yet this early in the morning.

100_0009
Running past, we see quaint shops and restaurants dot the route.

100_0011
They even have their own gas station with a waterfront.  Neat. 

100_0015
With a little dock that allows people to enjoy Lake Conway.

100_0016
Along the route, most streets leading to the lake have No Outlet signs posted. 

100_0018
A particular one, however, holds a secret for runners.  Note the fence at the end of the road.

100_0024
It leads into the second park I am going to visit today, Lagoon Park.

100_0023
Wedged between neighbors, this is a very tranquil place to take a breather and sip some water.

100_0029
Its Tuesday so rest has to wait. I head out to the neighborhood on the other side of the park.

100_0030
And get to enjoy a nice run with a lot of shade.

100_0034
Soon, I stop at a not-quite-a-park but a boat ramp.  It is a big lake after all.  This is called the Perkins Boat Ramp.

100_0036
Where we can enjoy the nice view.

100_0037
And greet the neighbors as they go about their day.

100_0039
Not a mile goes by before I visit the third official park of the day, Lucille B. Bateman Park at Swann Beach.

100_0041
Heading back to run; I almost forgot I was in long run.

100_0047
I pass a beautiful house I could live in but don’t.

100_0048
As I head out to cross Lake Conway on the way back to work.

100_0050

This is a lot better place to drink take a sip of water with a nice view at either side.  Running in the morning makes all things peaceful (except dogs).

100_0052
I can almost picture myself in a kayak instead.

100_0053
Back to reality, I cross the bridge and head back the other way.

100_0058
Looking back assuring myself I’ll come back.

100_0060
Forget the kayak, I could buy that boat instead.

100_0067
Here is the last park, I think fourth, I will visit in run today.  It is the smallest park I’ve ever seen, Gilbert Park.

100_0068
Nice little nook. I wonder if it provides public access to the lake.  I’ll find some other time.

100_0070
So I actually run into the last park, fifth, of my run today.  It is actually part of  Warren Park, the first park I ran into today. This part is on the other side of the road so I count separately.  This would be a nice place to come play with the kids at lunch break.  I’ll have to ask my wife.

100_0077
It even has the requisite playground for the kids.

100_0079
Exiting back the way I came, I see people enjoying the park by now.

100_0081
Sadly, I have to head back for a full day of work ahead.

100_0082
Bye Belle Isle.

100_0083
Sorry for grumpy face. A quick shower and a full day of work awaits me.

100_0090

Not as picturesque as a run around London but it sure beats sitting at desk.  Lets wrap this up with required route and link of morning run. 

image

As Ray would say, thanks for reading!

Written by mariotalavera

May 29, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Posted in Running

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] the spirit of my previous runaround post, I decided to do the same for my latest long […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

