Mario Talavera Writes

- My Development Journal

A Brooksville Runaround

leave a comment »

In the spirit of my previous runaround post, I decided to do the same for my latest long run.

This time I ran in Brooksville, FL instead.  The combination of week 7 of training plan (Disney here I come!), the kid’s school camping trip and the opportunity to run in a new place warranted this post. 

Call me weird, planning the run was half the fun.  Between Google Maps and Garmin Connect, I was able to plot a route around our camping site that lined up with planned run.

The only thing I did not plan was the expected humidity. According to NOAA’s site, average humidity was 69.  That is a lot of water in the air.  Thankfully, it was cold enough that it was not a bother.  Accordingly, however, my printed route paper was completely wet 2 minutes after I took it out of pack!

image 

Good friend Chris saw me off at dawn; this is us right after the sun came out.

image

The first surprise was hills; look at this beauty.  We have a total of zero of these in Orlando.  According to Garmin, this one mile is about a 100 feet drop and back again. 

image

Oranges anyone?

image

Now we’re talking; beef!

image

Still getting used to the hilly terrain.

image

Before long, I ran past this RV/Golf Course Community.

image

Where, invading a driveway, I was able determine I am running in Pasco County.  Made me think of ‘Dukes Of Hazzard’ show I used to watch with my dad!

image

Look, third person awake at this time of day… That’s if Chris hasn’t gone to sleep again of course.

image

He had this nice pond to golf around all to himself.

image

Even had an audience silently cheering him on. How considerate.

image

This is the entrance to the community; lets visit.

image

Neat.  My friend Carlos is buying one of these any day now.

image

They even have their own fire station.  I would get a home insurance discount for this.

image

Time to say goodbye and get back on route.

image

Here I was restricted to 30 mph lest I jump off the road.

image

For the next few miles, half the road was (recently) paved.  This was the only time where oncoming cars would hesitate to share the road.  Seems that mid road bump was very inconvenient. Still, Brooksville Drivers drives very exactly twice as considerate as Orlando Drivers.

image

I am putting this picture here for when the shoe company decides to sponsor me.

image

This is the only time I thought this run might not be a good idea.  That boxer has an amazing kick!

image

Hay!

image

More beef; you know you’re in the right place when you’re surrounded by beef.

image

And here are the awesome creatures. I was sad to see them run away from me.  It must be my shoes.

image

Except for this nice guy.  Either he wanted to be in picture or he wanted to run with me. Win.

image

Yet another beef place.  By now I just want to move to Brooksville.

image

This place even had horses.  Those I cannot race.

image

And there they are; beautiful animals.

image

Those look a lot bigger when they swish by you at speed.  Oh my!

image

This stop light is exactly like the one in Radiator Springs from the Cars movie, really.  Got it? No? Go watch it; its better than this blog post.

image

According to my plan; I reached this intersection right on time.

image

You cannot tell by my photographic skills but this is a 140 feet elevation gain in about a mile and a half.

image

Aw, we ran out of beef.  Blackberries it is.

image

Pretty berries.

image

This sign I see every year and cannot forget.  One day I am running to dead end, saying good morning and heading back.

image

Last hill of the run; I am sure going to miss these back home.  Maybe I should run away from home. Ha!

image

Back home… for a few more days anyways.

image

Last selfie; I am this happy!

image

And here is the route taken.  Prettiest run yet!

image

That is it; thanks for reading.

Written by mariotalavera

November 16, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Posted in Running

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

