PCI – Chapter Two Wrap

To finalize my study of chapter two, I have decided to embark on creating a mini-scale site of movie recommendations based on both the movie information available at Movielens and the algorithms provided in Programming Collective Intelligence Book.

I have had a few complications gettign site hosted becuase of the intense pre-processing of data for movie ranking revisions as site is to accumulate ranking by visitors. So far, movie dataset takes close to three hours of processing before I can use statistical data to provide updated recommendations.

As an excersice, I will most likely have to cut back on some of the fetures and capabilities ourlined in the book but, most of the good stuff; I can represent in a website.

Lastly, I already have outlined Chapter Four – Searching and Ranking and it definately lends itself to another feature for this upcoming website. Very cool stuff.

Stay tuned as I plan site and logistics and there should be more info here within the week or so 😉

Leave a Reply

