IT Self Employed in Orlando – Why?

Having wrapped my last work gig a bit more than a month ago; I’ve devoted all my time to building a business (or two).  I am fortunate enough to have joined forces with two old time friends from the dot-com era, really.  They both have been working independently now for quite some time and we’re betting on the success of joining forces to establish a better rounded team.  God knows I could not pull such a thing by myself 😉  Between the three of us we figured we cover all the skills and needs we could not fill independently.  We each have varied aspirations individually and hope to help each other.  Kevin Fraser, at Eolatech, is mostly interested in the hardware side of IT and maintains a thriving business hardware support single handedly.  Cameron Thomas, at Creativeroot, mostly focuses in design and software business development.  I kind of fall in the middle having done a bit of both. My primordial intent is to help them both as best I can so that we can grow together.  Once we have the ball rolling, my utmost desire is to focus on developing sustainable websites.  Not one-off customer commerce sites but revenue generating sites.  There should be more time for these in due time, we have barely any time to deviate from our main task of doing what it takes to grow this business portfolio and client wise.

Having wrapped my last work gig a bit more than a month ago; I’ve devoted all my time to building a business (or two).  I am fortunate enough to have joined forces with two old time friends from the dot-com era, really.  They both have been working independently now for quite some time and we’re betting on the success of joining forces to establish a better rounded team.  God knows I could not pull such a thing by myself 😉

Between the three of us we figured we cover all the skills and needs we could not fill independently.  This is not a post to peddle our services so I won’t write about that (yet).  Suffice it to mention that I am in good company.  We each have varied aspirations individually and hope to help each other.

Kevin Fraser, at Eolatech, is mostly interested in the hardware side of IT and maintains a thriving business hardware support single handedly.

Cameron Thomas, at Creativeroot, mostly focuses in design and software business development.  I kind of fall in the middle having done a bit of both. My primordial intent is to help them both as best I can so that we can grow together.  Once we have the ball rolling, my utmost desire is to focus on developing sustainable websites.  Not one-off customer commerce sites but revenue generating sites.  There should be more time for these in due time, we have barely any time to deviate from our main task of doing what it takes to grow this business portfolio and client wise.

In this short time flying solo, we’ve been fortunate to get a few medium sized sites which are taking care of the bills…

The first site I’ve been involved with is Parker Business Planning (for the locals, of Parker Boats fame).  This is a typical B2B application for accounting and all sorts of monetary forecasting for boat dealers.  Representative of Coldfusion sites, this is mostly a closed site with nothing to show outside the walls.  If I were to put it on a portfolio in one phrase, I would say ‘Distributed-excel-accounting-wizbang-package’.  I am certain at least one of you went ah!  Enough said.

The other site I am putting lots of efforts now is a ropes course management application.  The site, LeapCM.com, written in Rails, is a bit easier to describe.  A Home Brewed CRM for a niche type of adventure camp.  That sounds about right.  We all have high hopes for this as well.

That’s it for my status report.  I am hoping for the time to post more about the daily grind self employed, the good and the bad. I am very excited about this opportunity and where this different career path may lead!

Leave a Reply

