Hungarian Bookshelves

So after reading this post http://toolmonger.com/2012/03/28/hungarian-shelves-ftw-or-why-tm-readers-rock/ about bookshelves, I was naive enough to give it a try.  This is my brief overview of how in went for me, in pictures.  I’ll be happy if it saves a few people a few hours or headache or two.  I am not apologizing for the phone pictures.

Notes of value follow each picture.

Image

Here’s finished shelf.  The stain has almost dried, can still smell it.  I blink, its half way full already!

Here is the walkthru in approximate order

Image

First, we approximately mark the notches both on the 2x4s and on the horizontal pieces of wood.

Image

To get here, I used a circular saw, two cuts, and a flat-head screwdriver as my chisel.

Image

Before long, I ended up with notches, a lot of them.

Image

My wife suggested I take a few dangerous corners out to save a few scrapes and bruises.  Good idea!

Image

Pre-drilling the verticals in preparation of the wall studs.

Image

And filling them notches hoping angles are good enough.  Better tools would ensure better precision!  No t as much fun thou.

Image

This is the last time this wall looked so neat. So sad.

Image

And this is point of no return.  We are doing this.  Worth sharing that neither the verticals nor the wall studs are straight!

Image

Here, you can see me test fitting the horizontal pieces for measuring the notches to cut.

Image

This is proof there is not a straight line in the whole project.

Image

Seven years old is FUN.  I wish I was seven.

Image

One coat of stain did this.  Pretty.

Image

But then I had to do the rest.  Wife helped lots. Goodness this smells strong.  Had to leave in garage overnight waiting for the fumes to evaporate a bit.

Image

And this is the finished shelf, shim and all.  I had to use shims in about half of the connections to ensure 90 degree angles for all shelves.

That’s it’ enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Hungarian Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

