VMware Hypervisor Static IP

One of the few frustrating experiences learning VMware Hypervisor has been loosing my server!  At install time, I must have defaulted to automatically getting an IP Address from DHCP.  Twice now, I’ve attempted to login thru vSphere and my server is nowhere to be found.  The hosted VMs are all accessible.  Its just VMware that goes M.I.A leading me to the suspicion that I did something wrong.

My usual fix is to scan my network for devices.

image

After figuring out which IP Address is my server at now, I proceeded to the servers configuration page on the right and selected networking from the mid-left pane.

Image

Selecting properties from the rightmost panel brings up the networking details for the server.  Here, I can see my new IP Address as well.

Image

Selecting Management Network from the left pane and pressing the edit button brings up the network properties where I can change the IP Address.

Image

Easy enough, I changed my settings to statically set my IP Address.  Done!

Leave a Reply

